Wait for it

Fourteen years ago today, I welcomed my son into this world, on time and under-budget, thanks to military benefits and Wilford Hall Medical Center, proudly bringing to fulfillment nine months of waiting and hoping.

Come to think of it, I seem to do that a lot. (Waiting, not birthing.)

For instance, I planted seeds in a plot of rich soil along the backyard fence a week ago today. Tomatoes and tomatillos, peppers and cucumbers, okra and dill, all seasoned with a dash of MiracleGro. I realize I’m a little late to the garden party this year, the season half gone and all, but still I water. I wait.

Every season is feast or famine in this freelance world, and since I’ve been doing it so many years – to be flexible and available to my family — and work for some awesome clients, most days are like a 10-course meal. They call. I write. But it’s still a waiting game.

As for birthing, I also have one in college who is so smart she can do anything but can’t/won’t/isn’t declaring her life’s profession yet. Another a high school senior who dreams of faraway colleges yet can’t/won’t/isn’t declaring her top picks yet. Their choices, their decision. I can do little but wait.

Then there’s my one and only. Next time you’re a patient in the waiting room, count up how long you’ve been waiting, then tack on about another hour or two. That’s how long his/her family will wait to see him/her at the end of the day. Not a whine fest. As they say, anything, anyone, worth having is worth waiting for.

What are you waiting for today?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Wait for it

  1. I am forever waiting on someone to tell me what I am going to be when I grow up 🙂 … I never thought the doctor’s family. I will now.

  2. I love this post! I feel like I am constantly waiting for that big opportunity that will make all my hard work seem like it was worth it. 🙂

  3. Waiting is kind of a rare thing nowadays – even when I’m waiting, I’m probably busy using my iPhone.

  4. poprice

    “Every season is feast or famine in this freelance world” — poetic and true. Great post.

  5. NPJ

    I identify with this blog 100 % ! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

